Search This Blog

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Rock News for Wednesday 24th March, 2010


Few acts could whip an arena full of rockers into a frenzy as Triumph did throughout the late ‘70s and ‘80s, when the group’s best known line-up – guitarist/vocalist Rik Emmett, bassist/keyboardist Mike Levine, and drummer/vocalist Gil Moore - were at the peak of their powers. And it’s this exact time period that is focused on throughout Triumph’s new “best of” set - ‘Greatest Hits: Remixed’ - which will be released on May 18, 2010.

All of the classic tunes that were - and continue to be - in heavy rotation on rock radio (and the early days of MTV) are included here, namely, “Lay it on the Line,” “Hold On,” “Fight the Good Fight,” “Magic Power,” etc.

These fourteen tracks of anthemic metal have never sounded so good, as they were all recently remixed by Rich Chycki (who has previously worked with Aerosmith and Rush). The set also includes a previously unreleased recording - “Love Hurts” - which will be the lead-off single from Triumph’s ‘Greatest Hits: Remixed.’

"We have been planning this release forever," says Levine. "For years, Triumph fans have been demanding that we give them a fresh greatest hits package and they are going to love this one."

Also included in the set is a DVD mixed in 5.1 audio, that features eleven promo and live videos in widescreen (plus additional unreleased videos for “Child of the City,” “Blinding Light Show,” and “Love Hurts,” and footage of the group’s 2008 induction into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame).

The deluxe two-disc package will be housed in a six-panel digipak – including a 20-page color booklet, complete with liner notes, lyrics, and chockfull of vintage photos.
Whether you’re a long-time Triumph fanatic or a new convert, you have never heard the group as crystal clear and loud n’ proud as you will throughout ‘Greatest Hits: Remixed.’ "’Greatest Hits: Remixed’ rocks like no other Triumph set,” declares Moore. “This is the definitive Triumph collector’s edition."

Track listing for ‘Greatest Hits: Remixed’ CD:
1. Allied Forces
2. Lay it on the Line
3. Follow Your Heart
4. Magic Power
5. I Live For the Weekend
6. Hold On
7. Just One Night
8. Fight the Good Fight
9. Spellbound
10. Never Surrender
11. When the Lights Go Down
12. Somebody’s Out There
13. Rock and Roll Machine
14. Love Hurts

Track listing for ‘Greatest Hits: Remixed’ DVD:
1. Follow Your Heart
2. Lay it on the line
3. Spellbound
4. Magic Power
5. When the Lights Go Down
6. Hold On
7. Just One Night
8. Somebody’s Out There
9. Allied Forces
10. Never Surrender
11. Never Say Never

Bonus Videos
1. Child of the City
2. Blinding Light Show ( Bootleg: Filmed on Fan Cam )
3. Love Hurts
To keep up with the band and all things Triumph visit:

A update note from Michael Schenker
(Photo image courtesy of )

Heres' the latest message from Michael Schenker to his fans regarding the DVD recorded in Japan.
This should be a good one as the line up included:
Michael Schenker
Gary Barden
Simon Phillips
Neil Murray
 Wayne Findlay

We successfully finished the MSG - 30th Anniversary - (Special Line-up) Japan Tour.
A DVD and Recording featuring live footage from this tour will be released in Autumn.

Also, a long awaited Instructional DVD will be available in stores soon.
All the best
In addition at his site, this news item:
On March 27th Michael will be performing at the Frankfurt Musikmesse (Agora Stage, 13:30 - 14:00 Uhr) with ex Scorpions drummer, Herman Rarebell and Kingdom Come front man, Lenny Wolf on vocals. Also, part of the line-up will be Wayne Findlay (MSG, Slaviour) on guitar/keyboards and Elliott Dean on bass.

Rik Emmett Toronto Guitar clinic this Thursday 25th March.

More Triumph related stuff too!
Join Rik Emmett and Dave Dunlop at Long & McQuade (Toronto) this coming Thursday, March 25th at 7:00pm.
Rik and Dave will perform a few tunes (both electric and acoustic), take questions, and do a meet & greet signing autographs for fans.

Long & McQuade
925 Bloor St. W.
Toronto, Ontario
Phone: (416) 588-7886
Map and store details:

Judas Priest featured in new book
Judas Priest is featured in a new book, Full Metal Jackie Certified: The 50 Most Influential Heavy Metal Songs of the '80s and the True Stories Behind Their Lyrics. In a new interview conducted exclusively for the book, Rob Halford details the creative process that resulted in "Breaking the Law", "Electric Eye," and "Eat Me Alive," in full chapters about each song that also examine their social and cultural signficance, both then and today.

Full Metal Jackie Certified: The 50 Most Influential Heavy Metal Songs of the '80s and the True Stories Behind Their Lyrics is in-stock or available for order at major book retailers, and also online at:
and other online retailers.

Chickenfoot Teams up w/ Aqua Teen Hunger Force

Chickenfoot aka - Joe (Satriani), Chad (Smith), Mike (Anthony) and Sammy (Hagar) step into the very strange world of Aqua Teen Hunger Force this Sunday night on Adult Swim TV. Check out the episode of "I Am a Pod" in which Shake orders what he thinks is an Ipod, but turns out to be seeds to grow a Pod (a la Invasion of the Body Snatchers). The Pod is a huge Chickenfoot fan and ultimately gets to meet the band at one of their shows, turning them into aliens, and hence they take over the world on their tour. More info at

No comments:

Post a Comment