Search This Blog

Monday, July 26, 2010

Rock News for Monday 26th July, 2010

Steven Tyler Discusses Rehab and Aerosmith's Future

This was posted at the bands own site late last week, from an interview Steven Tyler did with Rolling Stone magazine:

The last time Aerosmith played an American show, things didn't go so well. At a gig in South Dakota in 2009, frontman Steven Tyler fell off the stage while singing "Love In An Elevator," causing him to break his shoulder and get a gash in his head — and forcing Aerosmith to cancel the rest of their tour. As Tyler recovered, the band threatened to hire a new singer and told the press they suspected Tyler was back on drugs. "It was a real trying time for me," Tyler says. "We didn't speak to each other for a while after that and Joe [Perry] just decided to look for another singer. I don't know what he was thinking, but we've since made amends to each other and more importantly the band's playing better."
After wrapping up a European tour, Aerosmith kicks off its American leg tonight in Oakland, California, with a set that will lean heavy on the hits — and some rarities. "When you got 'Dream On' and 'Sweet Emotion' and 'Walk This Way' and 'Love In An Elevator,' you can't leave them out of the set," says Tyler. "And there's a lot of esoteric stuff we can add. We may do [1978's] 'Kings and Queens,' or we might do [1979's] 'No Surprize.'" Perry, who recently spoke out about his motorcycle crash, says the band has yet to hammer out a precise setlist, but it will likely change from night to night. "I think that is going to be the biggest issue of contention at this point," he says. "We have toured a lot in the states and we're going to be putting down the setlist side by side for each city for the last two or three years and try to come up with something different — which is what I think the fans want to hear. I do think people want to hear stuff from the first five records."

Once the tour wraps, the group will contemplate cutting their first album since 2001's Just Push Play. "I feel like we haven't made the best record we can make yet," says Perry. "We owe it to ourselves. We owe it to our fans. We owe it to the label. We wanna have fun in the studio, basically. And it's time."

The full details of this story can be found at the bands site here:

Deep Purple denies current European tour is the last ...

This from the bands website, as speculation on how long the band will continue is doing the rounds, so it seems!

Rumors of Deep Purple's Final Tour of Europe - NOT TRUE

Deep Purple and their management have confirmed that the rumor, from an unknown source, that this year's tour of Europe will be the band's last, is UNTRUE. Deep Purple is currently on tour in Europe, making stops in Italy, Germany, France and more. This will NOT be the last time Deep Purple's European fans will be able to experience the band and their music live! Stay tuned to for the latest tour updates, news and much more.

So there you have it, from the horses mouth so to speak and hopefully they are not lying!

Steve Lukather album and tour

Steve Lukather has just finished his new solo album "All's Well That Ends Well" which will be released on October 11th 2010 by Mascot Records. He will then tour Europe in November 2010.
Check out the confirmed tour dates here:

Steve Lukather "All's Well That Ends Well" (European) Tour 2010

* 03 November 2010 * Spirit 66 , Verviers (Belgium)

* 04 November 2010 * Paradiso , Amsterdam (Holland)

* 05 November 2010 * Jovel , Münster (Germany)

* 06 November 2010 * Rosenhof , Osnabrück (Germany)

* 07 November 2010 * Columbia Club , Berlin (Germany)

* 09 November 2010 * Leverkusen Jazz Tage , Leverkusen (Germany)

* 10 November 2010 * Batschkapp , Frankfurt (Germany)

* 11 November 2010 * Backstage Halle , Munich (Germany)

* 13 November 2010 * Elysee Montmartre , Paris (France)

* 15 November 2010 * Hiroshima , Turin (Italy)

* 16 November 2010 * Z7 , Pratteln (near Basel) (Switzerland)

* 18 November 2010 * Academy Islington , London (UK)

* 19 November 2010 * The Robin , Bilston (near Wolverhampton) (UK)

* 20 November 2010 * The Brook , Southampton (UK)

Heaven & Hell tribute video from London's High Voltage Festival

The full setlist of Heaven & Hell at the High Voltage show - I believe - was:

01. The Mob Rules (Jorn Lande)
02. I (Jorn Lande)
03. Country Girl (Glenn Hughes)
04. Children Of The Sea (Glenn Hughes)
05. Turn Up The Night (Jorn Lande)
06. Voodoo (Jorn Lande)
07. Bible Black (Glenn Hughes)
08. Falling Off The Edge Of The World (Glenn Hughes)
09. Die Young (Jorn Lande)
10. Heaven And Hell (Jorn Lande, Glenn Hughes)
11. Neon Knights (Jorn Lande, Glenn Hughes, Philip Anselmo)

Here's Heaven & Hell, playing "Heaven & Hell" with both Jorn Lande and Glenn Hughes on lead vocals:

Since it was filmed, here's hoping it gets a release at some point officially, hopefully with proceeds continuing to support the charity set up by Wendy and Ronnie James Dio's, 'Stand Up and Shout.'

Opening song 'Mob Rules' can be found here filmed by a fan - He filmed the video screen!

More Issa ... Oh yes ... What a voice!

Hot on the heels of the buzz caused by the launch of the release of ISSA’s debut album “Sign of Angels”, Frontiers Records is pleased to announce the digital only release of the single track “I’m Alive” on August 20th 2010.

The song was written especially for Issa by a dream team of Swedish songwriters from Örebro, including Tim Larsson, Johan Fransson, Tobias Lundgren (of Play Production, responsible of penning songs for the likes of Susan Boyle, Martin Stenmarck, Ashley Tisdale, Alcazar, Place Vendome, Saint Deamon, Primal Fear among others) , Ronny Milanowicz (the album producer and also drummer of Saint Deamon) and Joacim Cans (of Hammerfall).

Issa says “We had the best of times recording this song and it was actually the first track we recorded, the foundation for the rest of the album. It is a special song and to me it represents strength, independence and the courage to stand for yourself. Also I’m Alive makes you get that ”I can do anything” feeling, no matter what! It has the all elements of Rock ‘n Roll plus catchy melody-lines all wrapped up into one song - one listen and you’re hooked”.

The videoclip of “I’m Alive” can be watched on youtube now:

Watch out for ISSA debut album “Sign of Angels” to be released in Europe on September 24th and USA on October 12th 2010 on Frontiers Records.

No comments:

Post a Comment