Search This Blog

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Rock News Update for Wednesday 16th February, 2011

Veteran Hard Rockers King Kobra are back with a venomous new album

Frontiers Records is excited to announce the release of the Self-Titled come back album from KING KOBRA on April 15th in Europe and May 5th in North America.

Formed in 1984 by legendary drummer Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge, Rod Stewart, Ozzy Osbourne), Los Angeles heavy metal outfit King Kobra recorded two critically acclaimed albums for Capitol Records – the 1985 release 'Ready to Strike' and 1986's 'Thrill of a Lifetime'.

Along with Carmine, the band featured four relatively unknown musicians at the time – David Michael-Philips and Mick Sweda on guitar, Johnny Rod on bass and Mark Free on lead vocals.
King Kobra toured the U.S., Canada, Europe and Mexico playing shows with Kiss, Iron Maiden, Quiet Riot, Ted Nugent, Queensryche and Autograph.

The band was featured regularly on MTV and performed the theme song for the #1 1986 motion picture "Iron Eagle". After disbanding in 1988, each member continued his career in other successful major-label groups - Carmine to Blue Murder (Geffen), Mark Free to Unruly Child (Interscope), Mick Sweda to the BulletBoys (Warner Bros.), Johnny Rod to W.A.S.P. (Capitol/EMI) and David Michael-Philips to Lizzy Borden (Metal Blade).

The year 2010 saw the band reunite the original classic '85 lineup, replacing original singer Mark Free (now Marcie Free) with veteran lead vocalist Paul Shortino (Rough Cutt, Quiet Riot). “This album captures all the great points we had in the 80's, but better” says Carmine Appice “The music is more traditional King Kobra music. Great lyrics, kick ass songs with cool hooks and really good playing. A really great hard rock/metal record with lots of energy”.
David Michael-Phillips adds “It truly is an all-star album. Paul Shortino is amazing! I can honestly say he is one of the best vocalists in the business along with being one of the nicest and most generous people I have ever met”.

The band is planning to get on some targeted American and European summer festivals this year. Watch out: King Kobra is smokin' hot, back stronger than ever and "Ready to Strike" once again!

The new album “King Kobra” will include the following tracks: Rock This House, Turn Up The Good (Times), Live Forever, Tear Down The Walls, This Is How We Roll, Midnight Woman, We Got A Fever, Tope Of The World, You Make It Easy, Cryin' Turns To Rain, Screamin' For More, Fade Away.


* Paul Shortino - vocals
* David Michael-Philips - Guitar
* Mick Sweda - Guitar
* Johnny Rod - Bass Guitar
* Carmine Appice - drums

Night Ranger adds more live dates with Journey

As previously announced here, Night Ranger will soon be out on the road later this month, playing some special dates with Journey.

The first dates are:
February 2011
02.23.11 Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino w/ Journey Las Vegas, NV
02.25.11 Reno Events Center w/ Journey Reno, NV

Three additional shows with Journey are:
04.12.11 Auditorio Nacional w/ Journey Mexico, DF
04.13.11 Arena Monterrey w/ Journey Monterrey, NL
04.16.11 Coliseo de Puerto Rico w/ Journey Hato Rey, PR

The band will then head to Japan for some live shows in early June, before then heading to Europe, for various live dates with Journey in Germany, Switzerland and Italy.
Then it will be back to the USA for regular summer live dates, so far confirmed future US dates are way ahead in August.

At some point either later this year or early next year, a new Night Ranger should be out, as well as a new solo album from frontman Jack Blades.
For all news and tour dates for Night Ranger:

Brief snippets of info for you ...

Michael Schenker new album on the way, his site reports:

Michael (Schenker) is currently in the studio recording a New Album to be released in late Summer.
More about it soon.

He will take a little time out though to play a few South American shows:

FEB 22 2011 Teatro Metropolitan Mexico City MEX
FEB 24 2011 Bolshoi Pub GoiĆ¢nia BRA
FEB 25 2011 Manifesto Rock Bar Sao Paulo BRA
FEB 27 2011 The Roxy Buenos Aires ARG

Stone Temple Pilots add two more shows

Stone Temple Pilots have shared the following news with fans:

STP has announced two more shows, including local rock station, the WRIF's 40th anniversary show at Detroit's Fillmore.
Tickets go on sale this Saturday, February 19 but if you're a fan club member and you want to make sure you're in the door, get on board for the exclusive Fan Club presale. 

The two shows are:
April 2011
Apr 20, 2011 Detroit, MI - The Fillmore
Apr 22, 2011 Indiana, PA - Kovalchick Complex

For all news and all current tour dates for S.T.P. go to:

Rock Fest in Cadott, WI will run for 4 days!

I could of course write loads about another rock festival, but I think I perhaps already did enough on that in yesterdays news.
This new event though I will say is perhaps intriguing, as it will feature a certain British rock act, who have at least three band members are all currently separated by playing in different side projects.
Yes, apparently Def Leppard will be reunited to play at the 'Rock Fest' in Cadott, WI, headlining on Sunday 17th July, a day that will also feature special guests Heart, Tesla and Jackyl.
The four day festival will kick off on the Thursday 14th July, with Rob Zombie headlining and that days guests will be Slaughter, Cinderella and Three Days Grace.
For more details, go to the official festival site at:

Foo Fighters New Album’s details

The Foo Fighters have released the name of their new album.
The band will release their seventh studio album to be titled "Wasting Light" and will be available on April 12. The lead single for the new effort by Dave Grohl and company will be “Rope.”

Producer Butch Vig helmed the sessions for the album, which was recorded in Grohl’s garage.
The album will feature a mini-Nirvana reunion. Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic guests on Wasting Light, which, of course, features former Nirvana drummer Grohl and Nevermind producer Vig.
Wasting Light tracklisting:
1. “Bridge Burning”
2. “Rope”
3. “Dear Rosemary”
4. “White Limo”
5. “Arlandria”
6. “These Days”
7. “Back & Forth”
8. “A Matter of Time”
9. “Miss the Misery”
10. “I Should Have Known”
11. “Walk”

Official band site:

No comments:

Post a Comment