Search This Blog

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

Rock News Update for Tuesday 13th July, 2010

New Night Ranger site up and running ...

Yes, Night Ranger's site has been pretty idle for sometime, but just yesterday it seems they've given it a new look ... Although not too much news there yet, but I have a notion there could be some big news soon.
This is how they've launched it:

Welcome to the brand new Night Ranger site at!

It has been a rockin' year for Night Ranger in 2010, we're so happy that through the revamped we can bring you the latest:

- Night Ranger News
- Night Ranger Events
- Ticket Presales
- Tour Date announcements
- Exclusive audio, video footage and never before seen photos

Coming soon to the new you'll be able to create your own personal profile, upload photos and comment on all the exclusive content and news you'll only find in the upcoming Night Ranger Fan Club. We look forward to making YOUR Night Ranger website as fun and interactive as possible.

For more details about how you can become a member, click HERE - - to read all about the Ticketless Pre-Order Bundles!
Welcome home.

ISSA – quite simply the Melodic Rock newcomer of the year!

Napoli, July 2010 – Frontiers Records is excited to present the world the talents of Norwegian singer ISSA (Isabell Oversveen) with the release of her debut album “Sign of Angels” on September 14th in Europe and October 10th in the USA.

Sometimes real discoveries in music shake up the rock world from out of nowhere. In 2008 a new band from Sweden called Work of Art took the Melodic Rock scene by storm with a stunning debut album.
In the end of 2009 W.E.T., another alliance between Swedish musicians with singer Jeff Scott Soto was met with the highest enthusiasm from the Melodic Rock crowd, and just a few months ago, the return of Treat with “Coup De Grace”, marked another milestone release in the genre. Now, once again from Scandinavia, Issa, an exceptionally gifted singer from Norway takes her chance with “Sign of Angels”, her debut album, an album that many of the ones “in the know” have defined as a “bomb”!

Helped by producer Ronny Milianowicz (Saint Deamon) and some killer musicians such as Peter Huss on guitar, Uli Kusch (ex Masterplan, Helloween) on drums, Nobby Noberg on bass and Tim Larsson (Nick Lachey) on keyboards, Issa has managed to create a superb album which offers soaring and instantly likeable hook lines, solid guitar riffs and a crisp sound. Described as Brother Firetribe meets Treat with tons of melodies, class and attitude, “Sign of Angels” features song writing contributions from Joacim Cans (Hammerfall), Thomas Vickstrom (Candlemass), Daniel Flores (TMOMS), Soren Kronkvist (Crash the System) and many more.

A video clip for the song “I’m Alive” – a true radio hit – was shot by Thomas Tjader (Pretty Maids, In Flames) and will be added to the album.

Issa is a 26 years old girl from Oslo. At 17 she started to work her way into the music business as a demo singer for different labels in studios all around Norway. At 19 she won a competition with almost 150.000 votes singing the song “Fade Away” written by Stian Aarstad, who had been a member of Dimmu Borgir. The song was released on a record in co-operation with TV channel Fox Kids.

People just love listening to this girl sing and she soon hooked up with Gaute Ormaasen from the Norwegian Idol Show and toured with him. Issa has also performed on many Metal and Rock records including albums by Gaia Epicus and Illusion Suite. Issa has also played over 400 shows with Norwegian artists such as Postgirobygget, Dde, Jahn Teigen etc.

“Sign of Angels” final track listing includes:
Angels Crying; I’m Alive; Give Me A Sign; River of Love; What Can I Do; Closer; Unbelievable; How Will I Know; As I Live and Breathe; Flying High; It’s Not Me; Fallen Angel.
I’m Alive (bonus video clip)

The songs “I’m Alive” and “Angels Crying” can exclusively be listened to in full by streaming on the Frontiers Web radio from July 13th. Tune in at:

Enjoy the YouTube trailer presentation:

Issa: lead vocals
Peter Huss: guitars
Tim Larsson: keyboards
Nobby Noberg: bass
Uli Kusch: drums


It seems the ex members of Rainbow continue to keep the music alive, at least Joe Lynn Turner, Graham Bonnet and Doogie White anyway!
Band Members: Toshio Egawa, Atsushi Hasegawa, Kenichi Fujimoto

Band Members: Howie Simon, Tim Luce, Jeff Bowders

*DOOGIE WHITE: Guest Vocal


Sep 27 Osaka : BIG CAT
OPEN 6:00PM / START 7:00PM

Sep 29 Nagoya : BOTTOM LINE
OPEN 6:00PM / START 7:00PM

Sep 30 Tokyo : Shibuya C.C.Lemon Hall
OPEN 6:00PM / START 6:30PM
Ticket Price is YEN8,000 All
(Osaka and Nagoya need YEN500 for Drink Charge)
All of concert tickets onsale August 7

Present By ZAK Corporation

Eagle Rock Showcases The Prog-Rock Prowess of
~Filmed at The Lyceum In London, December 1970 ~ On DVD July 27, 2010

New York, NY (July 12, 2010)—On July 27, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Emerson, Lake & Palmer’s Pictures At An Exhibition: Special Edition on DVD. This concert film, which has previously been released on VHS and DVD, is now available as a special 40-year anniversary package.
Originally released in cinemas in 1973, Pictures At An Exhibition captures the English power trio performing at the Lyceum in London in December of 1970. Filmed at the height of their popularity, this concert film is a snapshot in time, blending the integrity of the music with seventies psychedelic special effects.

This special edition release, commemorating forty years since this concert, is the most complete version of the film, presented with the best possible sound and picture quality. As a bonus, the DVD features a previously unreleased 1970 live performance from Belgian television program “Pop Shop,” as well as the original theatrical trailer.

The title of this release truly fits the presentation – this is a musical exhibition, showcasing the incredible musical power of keyboardist Keith Emerson, vocalist/bassist Greg Lake, and drummer Carl Palmer. Formed in the early ‘70s, Emerson (of The Nice), Lake (of King Crimson), and Palmer (of Atomic Rooster, The Crazy World of Arthur Brown), infused jazzy improvisation with the reckless abandon of rock, birthing their brand of music as aural artwork. This revolutionary sound is just as intriguing and mighty 40 years later.

Eagle Rock Entertainment recently released another performance from this classic rock supergroup, Live at Montreux 1997, on Blu-ray (June 22).

Track Listing:
1.) Promenade
2.) The Gnome
3.) Promenade
4.) The Sage
5.) The Old Castle
6.) Blues Variation
7.) Promenade
8.) The Hut of Baba Yaga
9.) The Curse of Baba Yaga
10.) The Hut of Baba Yaga
11.) The Great Gates of Klev
12.) Take A Pebble
13.) Knife Edge
14.) Rondo

Pop Shop 1970 performance
1.) Interview
2.) Rondo
3.) Nutrocker
4.) Take A Pebble
5.) Knife Edge
6.) Blues Jam / Nutrocker

No comments:

Post a Comment