Search This Blog

Monday, January 17, 2011

Update Monday 17th January, 2011

Hi all, well, Sunday night I scoured the web in various locations, looking for some new news to bring and to be honest, came up empty handed.

That said, last week and this past weekend was the N.A.M.M. event, over in California which was full of all sorts of people from Eddie and Wolfgang Van Halen to Night Ranger and Def Leppard members too, not to mention many other name artists, so chances are, more information will roll out about this person getting up and jamming with so and so ...
All the information I'm sure will roll out, as the week goes on.
N.A.M.M. is the true musician's dream event by all accounts and apparently the place to be seen, based on Facebook postings this past weekend.

So anyway, just briefly here's a couple of little details I did stumble upon ... Cheers, have a good week folks!
Al :)

Black Sabbath Live at Hammersmith Odeon 1982

It seems a limited edition of just 3000 copies, of a triple vinyl release, from the Ronnie James Dio fronted Black Sabbath, has just been released.
I learned of this through and so if you want a copy of this limited edition, you'd better be quick! 
Here's more on this item from

Together for a short but memorable time – a trio of studio albums, a classic live album, and a couple of tours – the second coming of BLACK SABBATH began in 1979 when founding members Tony Iommi, Terry“Geezer” Butler and Bill Ward were joined by Ronnie James Dio. The former singer of Elf (and later Rainbow and then Dio) added his fiery, demonic howl to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame group’s crushing mix of iconic riffs, gloomy grooves and doom-soaked imagery.

This gatefold triple album features Dio, Iommi, Butler and Appice LIVE at Hammersmith Odeon in January 1982 during SABBATH’S tour for The Mob Rules. Now available for the first time on LIMITED EDITION NUMBERED vinyl, the concert spotlights SABBATH as they storm through 14 of the Dio-era’s best including, “Neon Knights”, “Heaven And Hell”, “Children Of The Sea” and “Country Girl.” The band also performs several pre-Dio classics including, “Paranoid”, “Children Of The Grave” and a white-hot version of “War Pigs.”

TNT release 'A Farewell To Arms' ..., but not in the USA ..., yet?

Yes, Norwegian rockers TNT who are now fronted by British vocalist Tony Mills (Shy, Siam, Serpentine), have just released a new album across Europe and Japan, although sadly at this time there's no news of any US release date.
This information below from the band's website.

With the release of "A Farewell To Arms", their third album with the current lineup, TNT returns to their roots. The music is more hard edged than on the last few albums, and the truth is you'll have to go all the way back to 1984's "Knights Of The New Thunder" to find the band so heavy. TNT have changed a lot since the eighties, and with British singer Tony Mills on board since 2006 the band have now returned to the musical style the fans have been requesting.

In the early nineties the band broke up, but TNT returned with a couple of more alternative hard rock albums later in the decade, before disappearing again. At the turn of the millennium TNT slowly began to rise once more, and came back with full force when "My Religion" was released to rave reviews in 2004. The band then started to fall apart, and as bass players changed at a rapid pace, singer Tony Harnell left the band in 2006 to be replaced by Tony Mills.

Diesel Dahl and Ronni Le Tekrö were by now the core of TNT, and in Victor Borge (ex Jack In The Box, Autopulver) they found a permanent bass player. When Tony Mills entered the scene TNT was finally a complete unit again, and released "The New Territory" in 2007.

TNT have been touring extensively in Norway ever since, and at the same time been working on new music. This resulted in "Atlantis" in 2008, before we now see the band return to a heavier sound on "A Farewell To Arms". The album was produced by Tekrö at his Studio Studio, and the songs are mainly written by Tekrö and Mills. It still hasn't been an easy road for the band: just as the new album were finished Mills suffered a heart attack at Oslo's main airport, but quick response from the airports paramedics saved the singer's life.

With the combination of Ronni's powerful riffs and great melodies TNT will once again please their fans with a catchy piece like "Don't Misunderstand Me", the groovy "Engine", more heavy stuff like "A Farewell To Arms" and "Take It Like A Man - Woman!", or a ballad like "God Natt, Marie".

Full Track list :
1. Engine
2. Refugee
3. Ship In The Night
4. Take It Like A Man - Woman!
5. Come
6. Barracuda
7. A Signature On A Demon's Self-portrait
8. Don't Misunderstand Me
9. A Farewell To Arms
10. Someone Else
11. God Natt, Marie
12. Not Only Lonely (Bonus track for Japan)
12. Harley Davidson (Bonus Track for Europe)

Official website:

No comments:

Post a Comment